Search
< Back to Product

Red Lion 614672 Electric Sprinkler Water Pump Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$279.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$279.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$279.99
(as of 06:32 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$319.42
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$370.72
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Red Lion RLSP-150 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (5)
Durable (3)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Price (1)
Reliable (1)
Cons
Heavy (2)
Difficult To Use (2)
Expensive (2)
Bad Instructions (1)
Did Not Come With Instal... (1)
97% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
38 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Water Pump Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
45 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1270 Helpful Votes
Water Pumps Direct Recommended

This cast iron pump is designed for years of service and reliability. Sprinkler pumps are designed for proper lawn and garden saturation when you have an alternative water source.

This 1-1/2HP model is self priming, which means you only need to prime it once! This means less time to get going after the initial set up.

A great pump at a great cost and it takes our "Good" recommendation as well!
Jim Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
415
Ronald L.
Eustis, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/4/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump, No Brown Unwatered Spots!
I kept getting brown spots in my lawn from the sprinklers not covering the area. Cleaning the filters in the sprinklers and flushing the lines didn't help enough. I thought they had put the heads to far apart. I finally looked at the pump and found the old casing was very rusted and the impellor was worn. The new Red Lion pump works great! The pressure is vastly improved from the spray heads, and now I have over-lapping coverage of the spray. My lawn has went thru the latest heat and dry spell... more
Ronald Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Gary O.
Powderly, TX
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/9/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great For Irrigation
The pump has been installed about 2 weeks now and so far has performed above expectations. I can easily run all of our sprinklers, drip irrigation, sprinkler tractor and garden irrigation at the same time with capacity to spare.
Gary Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Sharon S.
Abilene, TX
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/22/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Water That Lawn
This is a great pump, works my sprinkler system fantastically with a 20 foot lift and runs up to 14 sprinklers with 20 pounds pressure, smaller sections with 8 sprinklers. It has 30 pounds and plenty of volume.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use
Sharon Recommends This Red Lion Product
Sharon's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Extremely fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Chuck
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Company, Great Pump!
After installing my pump I realized it had a bad leak in the bottom of the front of the pump, upon closer inspection there was a crack on the bottom of the housing. I called water pumps direct and they were extremely helpful and replaced the pump with no hassle. The new pump is performing beyond my expectations so 5 stars for both Water Pumps Direct and Red Lion!!!
Chuck Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Cameron C.
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/13/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dependable Workhorse
A replacement pump was in order due to an electrical motor problem. In just one call, the staff reacted to my problem and I received a new pump within seven days after reporting the bad bearing.
Cameron Recommends This Red Lion Product
Cameron's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent service on resolving my problem."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Randall C.
Talladega, AL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/9/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
You have to get all the air bubbles out. Once this is done the pump is very quite and puts out plenty of pressure to run the sprinkler heads. I used this at the lake and I know it says to use 2" inlet, bit my old pump had 1-1/4 line. It was easy to convert to a 120 voltage.
So far very pleased with the pump.
Randall Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Scott P.
Merritt Island, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/20/16
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Pump
Replaced a Meyers, mall pump that didn't last a few years. Keeping fingers crossed that this pump will last many years. So far I have no issues.
Scott Recommends This Red Lion Product
Scott's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No issues so far. Replaced a Meyers pump that I think may have pushed more water but time will teĺl. So far it appears all is well. Ordering and shipping was great."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Al F.
Cisco, TX
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Made Pump
This Red Lion 71 GPM 1-1/2 HP Self-Priming Cast Iron Sprinkler Pump 614672 is well made and it is my intention to make use of it for a long time to come. The option to use 110 and / or 220 volts is a great built in feature in my opinion.
Al Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert L.
Lincolnton, NC
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/20/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Expected
Pump wiring instructions were pretty vague but I was able to wire and install the pump myself (I am not an electrician or plumber) in just a few hours. It would have been quicker but I had to make several trips to hardware store for extra fittings, etc. The pump itself works as well or better than the previous one and is much quieter. I am using the Red Lion pump for my lawn irrigation pumping from a lake.
Robert Recommends This Red Lion Product
Robert's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Product was backordered and I was not informed until I inquired about the status of my order."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian K.
Cody, WY
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/8/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good
I would recommend this pump to anyone that needs a quality Jet Pump at an affordable price. Clean up the instructions and add larger power wires for 230 service and you'll have acedit! I'm very satisfied with my purchase!
Brian Recommends This Red Lion Product
Brian's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Online ordering was a snap, and the Pump shipped quickly. I ordered on a Saturday and it rolled into Wyoming on the following Thursday which was impressive.The Pump's great."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jana
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/5/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good
I bought this pump to replace my old one that failed. So far it has been operating perfectly. My lawn and plants are happy again.
Jana Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Doug P.
Wantagh, NY
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/16/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Replacement
No hassle order and delivery. Easy to wire - easy to set up. Works like a charm.
Doug Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Nirav T.
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/1/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Service At Cost Effective Rate
We ordered the pump due to last pump burned out. Pump arrived in less then 4 days and we installed same day. In service and no issue at all and its quiet in operation.
Nirav Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Edward D.
Greenwood, SC
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/20/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
Purchased one 5 yrs ago and it performed flawlessly. We sold house and purchased and install this one-----functions perfectly.
Edward Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bobby M.
Shelby Township, MI
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sprinkler Pump
This pump is an excellent pump.
Bobby Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Yoav B.
Deer Park, NY
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/25/16
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Water Pump
We built a windows test lab, and had to use a water pump.
Yoav Recommends This Red Lion Product
Yoav's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"We ordered this water pump and it's doing a great job."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
William M.
Bradenton, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/21/16
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Expect High Performance
I haven't had the time to hook the pump up yet hopefully within the next month.
William Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Fred L.
Lehigh Acres, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/27/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Happy
This pump is overrated and will not push the design pressure of 46 psi.
Cons: Difficult To Use, Expensive, Did Not Come With Installed Pressure Switch And Does Not Pump Up,
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Fred,
Sorry to hear you are not satisfied with your pump. This pump, like most Sprinkler pumps does not come with a pressure switch. Please remember that suction lift, discharge distance/friction loss (depending on pipe size) all will factor into to GPM/PSI ratings of the pump. The spec sheet that can be found on the "Specs Tab" is directly from the manufacturer and it can be found here...Red Lion Sprinkler Pump Spec Sheet

If you think your pump may be defective or installed incorrectly please feel free to contact us or Red Lion directly @ (888) 956-0000.
more
Was this review helpful?
141
William
Clearwater, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/25/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Red Lion Pump.
This is my first experience with a Water pump installation, at age 83 I was definitely venturing into 'unknown waters' however I am always willing to rise to a challenge especially when I can save a bundle of bucks!

Without any assistance and a dubious wife ready to crucify me if I failed, I did get into it and much to my relief I did a very successful installation! The pump is working fine, it runs so cool, never shows any sign of over-heating even after a 'days' work!

I would... more
Was this review helpful?
100
Val
Hollywood, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/7/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Customer Service
I bought the red lion pump in 2012, had it install lasted less then a year. Motor was shot. The part is warranty. I called customer service and they ask me to send them the motor sticker which came off easy, and they shipped me a new one. It took around 2 weeks. We had it install and it works great. I hope this one will last for many years to come. Customer Service was great, they were nice to me with no hassles. This is a good company. I am so grateful this was a smooth replacement... more
Was this review helpful?
101
Sheldon Bathurst
Girard, IL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/4/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Third Pump In Seven Years
I pump water from the lake for irrigating my lawn. I have twelve zones, everywhere from three to six heads on each zone. The other ones were sufficient, but this sucker is a monster. I had to change nozzles on several heads since they were throwing water too far. All you have to do is look at the structure of this pump and pick it up to see that it is well-built. Costlier than others I have used, but you get what you pay for.
Pros: Quiet, Durable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Sheldon Recommends This Red Lion Product
Sheldon's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Talked to Water Pumps Direct and they steered me towards the Red Lion. A little pricier, but, hey, this is America, you get what you pay for PERIOD!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
71
Todd
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/19/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy
This pump was easy to set up and prime. It has been drawing lake water about 6 feet and lifting another 25 feet to run the lawn sprinklers.

My previous pump of another brand lasted about 6 years with one rebuild at 3 years. Hoping this one is more durable.
Was this review helpful?
60
Edward O.
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/20/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
At First You Don't Suceed
Received pump as ordered but motor was defective, contacted company and was able to get a replacement without cost or aggravation. Company support was excellent would buy from them again.
Pros: Quiet, Great Output
Cons: Would Prefer Screwdown Electric Contacts
Edward Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Alfred
Port Charlotte, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/14/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Punp For The Sprinklers & Gardens
I love my water pump. Can I leave it in the outside weather? I live in FL. I wouldn't like to damage it.
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Alfred,
These types of sprinkler pumps should not be left outside exposed to the elements. These pumps should be located in an enclosure that can be easily removed during operation to allow for cooler operating temperatures.
more
Was this review helpful?
83
Henry M.
Shelby Township, MI
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/29/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Performace
After taking a month to "secure" my sprinkler pump from theft, due to wet season, I used the Red Lion pump only once this summer. It produces enough pressure for six Orbit heads in three zones.
Henry Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Jeff
Tarpon Springs, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/17/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Would Buy Another One From Here!
I purchased this pump to replace an old one that failed. Once I had it running I was very impressed of how quiet this pump is. I have it installed in my garage and even when this pump is running I can still hear my TV. Nice Equipment!
Pros: Quiet, Durable, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Jeff Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Ken E.
Richmond Hill, GA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/10/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Red Lion Performance
Replaced older two pumps with one on shallow sprinkler well. Purchased this pump based on reviews and so far after 45 days I have been pleased with performance.
Ken Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Carolyn C.
Albuquerque, NM
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/20/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Needs Better Instructions
Wiring for the pigtail not in the instructions. Heavy and not easy to move around. Takes some time to prime up the water from 23 feet.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Price
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, Bad Instructions
Carolyn Recommends This Red Lion Product
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Carolyn,
Per the owner's manual "All wiring, electrical connections, and system grounding must comply with the National Electrical Code (NEC) and with any local codes and ordinances. Employ a licensed electrician."

If you're unfamiliar with an electrical application like this, it would be best to contact an electrician. In regards to the priming time. the longer the suction head is, the longer it will take to prime the pump. Using a check valve/foot valve will reduce priming time.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Mike S.
Benton, TN
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/17/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pond Pump
I have used my pump to fill my pond. I run it for multiple days at a time. The pump has worked flawlessly each time. I would recommend this pump to anyone. I'm moving water uphill 20 feet and over 200 feet away, with very good pressure.
Mike Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
64
Tim W.
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/28/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replacement
I replaced the exact pump and am extremely happy with the results. The first pump was bought off Ebay as a rebuilt pump and I couldn't get it to function properly. After checking all the needed specifications I ordered the same pump from Water Pumps Direct and got the results I anticipated.
Was this review helpful?
20
Jill
Billings, MT
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/6/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Seems Fine
I got this item delivered promptly and in good condition after ordering . It is installed and seems to be working well so far, but we have only had it a month.
Was this review helpful?
10
Val
Lawrenceville, GA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/7/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Red Lion Sprinkler Pump
Research all sprinkler pumps and finally decided on the Red Lion. Was delivered with no problems and installed. So far it works great. Have to see in the next few months how it does.
Was this review helpful?
10
Edward P.
Centereach, NY
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/12/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Unit
Unit was easy to install and does a superb job. I use it in my lawn irrigation system and the heads actually "smoke" with water from the water pressure this unit provides. No issues in shipment or condition, almost plug and play simplicity. The install took me less than 30mins. Very pleased.
Edward Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Brett B.
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/25/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sweet Pump
Needed a pump really fast due to my other one died. They sent me one out really fast. Easy to install and works great.
Brett Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Andres C.
Miami Springs, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/4/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy
Prompt delivery and easy installation. Couldn't be happier. Thank you.
Andres Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry D.
Sikeston, MO
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/27/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Red Lion Pump
High quality pump at 1/2 the cost of competition.
Larry Recommends This Red Lion Product
Larry's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Just purchased only 2 in last 6 months but so far they move more water than I could ever thought Very pleased !!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John C.
Rockledge, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/14/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
Out performs previous 1.5 HP pump, very happy with pump operation.
John Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials