Search
< Back to Product

Red Lion RJS-100 Electric Shallow Well Water Pump Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Sold Out
 
$389.60
(as of 06:27 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
Red Lion RJS-100 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (12)
High Quality (7)
Price (5)
Quiet (4)
Easy To Use (4)
Cons
Bad Instructions (2)
Moulding Between Pump An... (1)
Low Quality (1)
90% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
28 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Uli
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/6/13
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Pump, Bad Manual
Love the pump, but nowhere does it state how or where the 110v vs 220v connection is made. SOOO, I assumed it was 110 and wired it for that only to find out it was 220 after running it for several hours. Was glad I did not burn the thing out trying to start it.

IT NEEDS A SMALL SUPPLEMENT TO THE MANUAL TO EXPLAIN THIS.
Was this review helpful?
160
Barnard
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/19/13
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Water Pump Installation
Installation of the water pump was easy as I was replacing a similar pump. I did have some problem with the change over to 115 Volts from 220 volts . The instructions were ok except they did not state that the pannel lon back of the pump had to be removed instead of a voltage change in the pnmp pressure switch. After some time we found the location and made the switch. It would have been good if the instructions stated what voltage set the pump was shipped with. Pump is working good and water... more
Was this review helpful?
151
Matt
Glenville, NY
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/2/13
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
I was using a flotec 1/2 horse before buying this pump and I am glad to have the extra volume that this pump delivers. We had very poor pressure and volume before the red lion was installed. Very happy with the delivery, price and quality.
Was this review helpful?
100
Robert B.
Knightsen, CA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/13/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
I installed the Red Lion pump to run my water for my house. It has plenty of pressure right from the factory. the pump sucked a small piece of a spring from the foot valve and got stuck in the pump. I was able to take the pump apart and disassemble the pieces, remove the spring piece and put it back together. It works great! Thank you.
Pros: Price, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again, Works As Advritized
Robert Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
80
James T.
Jacksonville, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/31/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Pumps Works
I needed a pump to work 7 heads on 1 zone. It did the job !!!
Pros: Durable, Quiet, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
James Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Robert
Sacramento, CA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/18/14
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Buy
This pump works as promised. It was easy to install and I had zero problems with it. It doesn't seem to have any trouble achieving the set point pressure.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Easy To Use, Price
Robert Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Kenneth Krawietz
Midl, TX
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/6/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Pump
Very good pump. Pressure switch works well. No problems whatsoever. Would recommend this pump.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Use, Reliable
Kenneth Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Kenneth Y.
Fayetteville, NC
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/31/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Red Lion 1 Hp Shallow Well Pump
Installed today as a replacement for a 10 year old pump. Connected plumbing and electric then primed pump.

It started pumping after first prime and the flow was a lot better than the old pump even when it was new.

I didn't need to adjust the cut on/off pressure, because it was adjusted at the factory to the proper pressure.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Quiet, Fast
Kenneth Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
40
John Travers
Iola, KS
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/5/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Pump. I Had Question On Wiring 120 Volt And Red Lion
I have had 3 pumps and this pump is the most quiet. It also is easily adjusted for shut off pressure at the high end and cycle on at the low end.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
John Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Joseph R.
Fayetteville, NC
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/19/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Needed a new well pump for the garden. Product was more than I expected. Great pump and does everything the company said it would.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Durable, Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions
Joseph Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Lawrence N.
Norton, MA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/12/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Working On It
I have a well problem. Pump seems to work OK. Works where others failed. Looks like someone put it together in a hurry. I thought R L was made in Canada... My mistake.....
Pros: Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality, Moulding Between Pump And Base Was Not Fully Installed
Lawrence Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Billy
Bryceville, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/8/12
REVIEWED
MAR.
15
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Pump
We are using this pump to supply water to 2 houses and it works great.
Was this review helpful?
30
Richard G.
Fish Creek, WI
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/9/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Shallow Well Pump
I applied it to my existing sand point well where I need suction for a 20' rise. Worked great after second priming cycle. I like the option to use either 115 or 230 volts.
Was this review helpful?
20
David
Crescent City, CA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/26/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Installed Pumps Two Weeks Ago
So far the pump is doing a real good job. The pump time to fill the water tank is a lots less time.
Was this review helpful?
20
John
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/16/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
06
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
A Good Pump And Quiet Too!
I am happy with the pump, but I had some shipping damage to the controller, which appeared to be a generic unit anyway. I swapped out the Square D controller from my old pump and I was back in business.
Was this review helpful?
20
Terry B.
Jarvisburg, NC
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/6/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Red Lion Rjs-100
I needed a new pump and was disappointed in the local offerings from the "big guys". I researched online and found water pump direct and am glad I did. The Red Lion is a well constructed pump and primed the first try.

Directions were easy to follow, I am familiar with plumbing but anyone could install this pump with basic knowledge/tools. I highly recommend Water Pump Direct and their Red Lion line of Pumps.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Quiet
Terry Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
10
E S.
Burnet, TX
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/28/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast Shipping
Ordered Wednesday night - Arrived before noon Friday !!!!

Pump works great. Great price, free shipping and no sales tax.
E Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Patrick A.
Troy, TX
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/20/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Pump
I had to replace my old pump do to my failure to winterize the pump, water froze and it split the pump housing. I was going to replace it with the same pump from Tractor Supply, unfortunately I discovered that they switch brands and there new brand gets terrible reviews. So I found this pump. Pump installed with no problems, electrical instructions where great (contrary to some other reviews), and it appears to build like a tank. Has been running now for about 3 weeks. The only use for the... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Patrick Recommends This Red Lion Product
Patrick's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipping was free. Price was Great. Product seems to be excellent."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ronald E.
South Mills, NC
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/29/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
This pump is quiet! Working perfectly for a couple weeks now. No issues with the voltage as it came set up for 230v and was very well marked. As of today I would definitely recommend this pump and company.
Ronald Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Wes V.
Newport, NC
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/3/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Pump
My old water pump cracked over the winter in a un repairable place. Found this one at water pumps direct for a much better price than locally. Hooked it all up but couldn't get it to prime. Had a plumber friend look at it. luckily I had city water to the house.

He ran a hose to a hose bib close to the pump & filled up all the lines & turned on the pump & it pulled up the water in 10 seconds. It was air locked from the long length of pipe to the back yard & shop. Still... more
Wes Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard C.
Leland, NC
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/5/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Much Better Than What Lowes Carries.
I installed a new Lowes pump and was not satisfies with the water pressure or flow. This pump way outperforms that pump. Cost a little more but is worth the extra cost. I now have the flow and pressure that I need. Thanks.
Richard Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron K.
Longs, SC
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/29/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
This was my second choice. If it had been my 1st choice it would have saved me the time and expence of returning the 1st choice.
Ron Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
William D.
Seven Springs, NC
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/9/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Need A Pump Fast
I put my story in the experience section, make a long story short, experience with them all great!
William Recommends This Red Lion Product
William's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I live in eastern N.C. and our weather has been so unpredictable, and it got so cold that my other pump froze an busted even with a heater in the pump house. I needed another pump fast, so I started looking and found these guys. I knew what I wanted, found it, ordered it, and shipping was fast (I was really surprised!) Hooked it up and it's working great!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
James A
Medina, OH
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/5/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Primary Pump
His is my feed pump for my jockey fire pump for my house. The jockey pump must be under pressure to work. With the single pressure switch starting both pumps I achieve the 95 psi desired.

This pump is closely matched to the other at 24 gpm vs. 30 gpm and the system has a bladder tank after each pump, a 20 micron pond filter in the cistern, a 1.25" foot valve, 1.25 check valve between pumps, 5 micron 20"x4.5" filter, and a 1 micron absolute 20"x4.5" filter, Aqua... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael Dobbins
San Leandro, CA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/7/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Pump
Wife likes the color red.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, I Have Not Had A Chance To Install This Pump Yet Hopefully Wh, When I Have Installedi Will Be Very Happy
Cons: Bad Instructions
Michael Recommends This Red Lion Product
Michael's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Enjoy"
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
Jerry W.
Gonzales, LA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/28/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Everthing Worked Out Very Well
Couldn't fine a top of the line pump in stores where I live. So I looked on line and found water pumps direct. I'm pleased and happy.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality
Jerry Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
24
Robert B.
Marietta, GA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/23/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Appears Good
The pump is to replace my brother's well pump that froze last winter. It has not been installed, but it appears to be a close match for the old pump.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Price, Features
Robert Recommends This Red Lion Product
Was this review helpful?
03
Rigert K.
Clearwater, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/28/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pump Works Great!
Im using 4 points tied together and was getting around 3.3 gallons/minute with a 3/4Hp Harbor Freight shallow well pump and after replacement, i managed to get in the low 4s. This RedLion pump can pump out even more but I've hit my max from my wells because the pump can produce good amount for 30-40 seconds then drop to a weak stream for about 10-15 seconds.

My neighbor who I helped with his shallow well got around 5 gallons/minutes with only one point (lucky) but bottom line is, if you... more
Rigert Recommends This Red Lion Product
Rigert's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very happy with the purchase from ordering to setting up the pump and I'm glad i found you guys! Not to mention this site had the best price shipped on the pump. Thank You!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
04
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials