Search
Priority Shipments @ Water Pumps Direct View All In-Stock Pumps View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Little Giant APCP-1700 Electric Pool Cover Water Pump Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$159.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock$159.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA)
Visit Site
 
$159.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$175.66
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Little Giant 577301 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (12)
Reliable (8)
Price (7)
High Quality (7)
I'd Buy It Again (6)
Cons
Unreliable (3)
Heavy (2)
Electical Cord Beside Wa... (1)
Last Inch Of Water With ... (1)
Durability (1)
79% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
44 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Water Pump Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
45 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1267 Helpful Votes
Water Pumps Direct Recommended

This pool cover pump is the best, in my opinion, for several reasons.

First of all, the pump comes with a 3/4" garden hose connection and a 25' power cord. The pump is also automatic and has an integrated float switch that activates in 2" of water.

The built in handle makes it very easy to move around and helps with easy placement on the pool cover.

If these features weren't enough, the 3 year warranty stands above the rest.
Jim Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
520
William K.
Owensboro, KY
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/5/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Buy Your Last Pump First
The first one I bought was 3 years ago still going strong bought another one just for spare in case i need it. Next update review in one year... Stay tuned...
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
William Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Linda C
Tinton Falls, NJ
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Unreliable
The pump can be sitting in a large pile of water yet the pump does not go on. So you have to go and move it around. Sometimes a small tug will make it work and other times not matter what you do it will not pump.Also it never pumps all of the water off of the cover.
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Linda,
The most likely cause of the problem you're experiencing is air-lock. Try using a shorter length of discharge hose.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Nancy W.
Billings, MT
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Does The Job
Needed to pump off my pool cover, when my 4 year old pump failed after prolonged heavy rains. So far, so good.
Nancy Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph B.
Allentown, PA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/16/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Saved The Day
Can't say enough about the good experience with this company. Our swimming pool pump died in the middle of winter and we couldn't get this pump quick enough until we came upon your website. Found the best deal and the quick shipping of this item was remarkable. Thank you Water Pumps Direct for running a company the right way!
Joseph Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph C.
Virginia Beach, VA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/4/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Second Little Giant
I installed my 20X40 feet diving pool (10' deep) in 03 and just replaced it. That 1/3HP pump just won't quit. It was still running when replaced.
Joseph Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jon Hoch
Bolingbrook, IL
Total Reviews
8 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
50 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pool Cover Pump
Awesome at removing rain water that collects on top of our pool cover.

Watch my video review to see it in action.

Submit your own video review for a chance to win $1,000.
Was this review helpful?
291
G
Bryans Rd., MD
REVIEWED
MAR.
12
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
This Pump Is No Good
We have only had our pump one year, that is one season and it just stopped working. This is our second Little Giant in 3 years. We are done with this brand, needless to say.
Was this review helpful?
81
Jim D.
Glen Heights, TX
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/12/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Now I Am Satisfied!!
It looks like the little giant pool cover pump is a very good product, it is supposed to hook to a water hose but has a 1" female hole for water delivery. Unfortunately a water hose is a 3/4" connector? So now I have an immediate problem. So called the company and I finally got hold of the man that sold it to me. He said it should have had an adaptor with the pump. He immediately said I will get it in the mail to you right away. Good for Jim he gave no excuses but took care of... more
Cons: Packaging, Did Not Receive Total Product
Jim Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Jim T.
Annapolis, MD
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/16/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pool Cover Pump!
My previous pump went out after only 1 season of use. I had heard from many others, including the pool company service and store personnel that these pumps go out quite often and only last about 1 year. I decided to spend a few extra bucks to get one that would last. This one has a 3 year warranty!

It seems well built and does a great job at getting all the water off the cover relatively quickly. It was only about $30-40(if that) more than the cheap on that went up on me. I shopped around... more
Pros: Durable, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Jim Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Ed
Whitehall, PA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisified Customer
Given the fact that I used to try to siphon off the water my sucking the air out of a garden hose, this pump workied 1000x better and removed the water from the pool cover quickly with little effort on my part. The only negative was that it did suck some water fron under the pool cover, but that was not a issue with the pump but the pool cover itself.

I would highly recommend your pump to other individual considering a easy way to remove that nasty pool cover cover water.
Was this review helpful?
61
Dave D.
Youngstown, OH
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Unreliable
We put our pool in last year, my pump would only work intermittently. It makes a low humming sound, but pumps no water. I had it replaced under warrenty, but the 2nd one is doing the same thing. It is totally unreliable to remove water from my cover. I have left unplugged, taken out of water, disconnected from hose and put in water to see if it would pump just out the side- but it isnt. Could a 2nd one have gone bad?? It seems like somethings else might be going on.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, Light Weight
Cons: Unreliable, Durability
Was this review helpful?
51
Patrick
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Pump
Pump came as promised. Worked as advertised and we love it.
Was this review helpful?
40
Peggy H.
Marbury, AL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/1/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied
So far so good. No problems this season! More durable than the other ones I've had.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Easy To Use, Price
Peggy Recommends This Little Giant Product
Peggy Would Recommend Water Pumps Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Prompt service. Fast delivery. Also asked for feedback on product."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
George C.
Duluth, GA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/30/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
The little Giant pump does the job fast and is very durable. I also like the fact that it has a little weight to it as the weight allows the pump to sink down on the pool cover which results in a higher concentration of water around the pump, which it pumps out effectively and fast. I am very pleased with this pump.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy To Use, Fast
George Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Jeffrey M.
Pendleton, IN
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/26/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Worries
Put your pump on the cover and just walk away. If it rains in the night you will wake up to a dry cover. It works great.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price
Jeffrey Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
30
James W.
Holdenville, OK
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/29/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect For What We Wanted
Just as advertised, works great for keeping the water off the top of the pool cover.
Pros: Reliable, Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet
James Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Bill O.
Searcy, AR
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/12/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Installation
Installed pump on pool cover before big rain (at least 2") came during the night. Next morning pool cover had less than 2 gallons on cover as it worked during the night. Easy installation.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Bill Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Dean
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Thanks
Thank you. It arrived quicker than I expected and work great.
Was this review helpful?
41
Michael H.
Cincinnati, OH
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pool Cover Water Removal
I bought this pump for my 24' x 16' above ground pool. I place it on top of the cover and whenever rain water gets above 2 inches on top of the cover, the pump switches on and drains water.

I love it because I don't have to monitor it; and so far, so good. This is my first fall/winter with pump.
Was this review helpful?
30
Dale P.
Lockport, NY
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product!!!
After using my new pump for the 1st time I'm so glad I purchased this. It worked well, pumped strong and shut off as described!

Don't waste your money on cheaper products!!! This is a keeper!!! Thank You, Water Pumps Direct!!
Was this review helpful?
30
Jeff
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Next Pump
I have purchased so many pumps through the years, which most just worked 1 season, the occasional worked for 2 years. most of the pumps were temperamental with debris around the unit and would clog up easily.

I put this one on the pool cover, which was about 8 inches deep with water and plenty of pinestraw along with other debris. I slid it into the deepest part and plugged it in. This pump took off and emptied the cover in about 5 minutes.

Excellent unit. We will see how it lasts... more
Was this review helpful?
41
Donald S.
North Haven, CT
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/11/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
I had a smaller Little Giant for over 10 years until, through my own neglect, caused it to fail. I always regretted not getting an automatic model. I thought I'd save a few dollars and get another brand. My BIG mistake. It didn't last a whole winter. This year I bought the the real McCoy and am I ever pleased. No setting gauges, no fussing with it at all. Put the adapter on, hook up the hose, place it, plug it in. Works like a champ!
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, High Quality
Donald Recommends This Little Giant Product
Donald Would Recommend Water Pumps Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Everything went smooth. I found what I wanted, bought it and received it on time, Perfect! The only thing that was not so pleasing was that the pump was delivered without an external box to protect in shipping and hide the contents, so everyone knew I got a new pump. I'm just lucky someone else didn't need one too."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Ed
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Pool Cover Pump
I am using it at the current time for a cover-pool. It performing fine with and steady cycles.
Was this review helpful?
20
Thomas R.
Merrick, NY
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/13/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Pump For Basement Flood.
Returned it because it was too large for the type of job. I have other similar pumps 80 GPM little giant could not do a better job.
Thomas Recommends This Little Giant Product
Thomas's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"price,quality & reliabilty excelent."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Joseph L.
Wichita, KS
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/25/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Pump
I like the sturdiness and built-in on/off switch, but it's so bulky that the last inch of water I still have to use a smaller pump
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Last Inch Of Water With S Large Pool Cover Be 100's Of Lns
Was this review helpful?
10
Norma P.
Goldsboro, NC
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/21/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Little Giant Pool Cover Pump
I just "installed" this pump on top of my pool cover. I put it between the cover and the Leaf Cover Net. As soon as the water covered the "sensor", the pump worked! So far, so good!! I will update if necessary tomorrow after the predicted rain storm.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Norma Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Karen J.
Hopewell, VA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/8/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product, Fantastic Service
This is my second little giant pool cover pump, and it works perfectly. I was very happy to find that Water Pumps Direct had it at this price, which, combined with the free shipping, was $109.00 less than what local pool companies are charging for it.

It was delivered in 2 days, which is faster than most paid shipping service, which is fantastic for this product, especially since it is often an emergency when these pumps fail (heavy rain). Local companies know this and are able to charge... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Electical Cord Beside Water Hose Connection
Karen Recommends This Little Giant Product
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Karen,
We're sorry you're receiving too many unwanted emails. You were likely added to our email newsletter list, but we will remove you to avoid future issues. You may still receive a couple more emails before it stops, but we'll make sure you're removed. If you have any problems with this in the future, don't hesitate to give us a call and we'll take care of it.
more
Karen's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Email solicitation practice of PED prevents me from recommending Water Pumps Direct to anyone else. I didn't opt in to being solicited by every power equipment product on the planet and am unhappy with the amount of SPAM I am receiveing. There were other websites I could have bought this from but chose this one because of the free shipping. I am happy otherwise but will go somewhere else in the future because of this issue unless it is resolved immediately.."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Elizabeth D.
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/11/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does Its Job With Alacrity
After going thru 2 Rule pumps in 3 years, what an expensive mistake THOSE pumps were, I ordered the Little Giant. I received it damaged from FEDEX, got great service from Water Pumps Direct for a replacement, and it's been pumping its little heart out ever since. It seems to be a much more substantial machine than the Rules were.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Nice Handle To Grab
Elizabeth Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Rick
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pool Cover Pump
Works great! Just throw it on the pool cover and walk away.

The level sensor is a great idea because it allows the water to drain to the pump unlike other pumps that will suck dry. Plus, it is heavy enough and vented well enough on the bottom to allow water to enter the pump.

The right pump for the application!
Was this review helpful?
10
Dennis K.
Tucson, AZ
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/1/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazingly Efficient!
I have used one of these units on a pool cover for the last few years. I just purchased a second unit to deal with Monsoon rains on a patio area.

Great pump.
Dennis Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Barry C.
Highland Park, IL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/25/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best One Yet
Have had Rule pumps break and replaced them. Thought I try a new brand and this unit is built like a tank. Single piece design is a definite plus. Great design!
Barry Recommends This Little Giant Product
Barry's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience. Will be back."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ruth M.
Fort Smith, AR
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/10/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Pump
Pumps the water off the pool cover very fast. Doesn't leave much to dry. Love it!
Ruth Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joann K.
Shirley, NY
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/18/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Little Giant Pump, Best Buy
With all the recent rain we had on Long Island this fall into winter I look out my window and the pump has kept up with keeping the pool cover dry.

I know I would recommend to anyone who needs a Automatic Pool cover Pump. Look forward to sales on Pool pumps to replace our old one.
Joann Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Megan G.
Morgan Hill, CA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/1/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Nicely!!!
I bought two of these. One for the deep end and one for the shallow end. We hooked them up right before a huge storm and they worked beautifully. No water on my cover whatsoever. I have tried several others that didn't work at all, so I am glad I finally found a pump that works.
Megan Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joy H.
Omaha, NE
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/9/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump!
We had a different style with a detachable disc bottom and over time one of the latches failed and the disc wanted to separate. This is all one sturdy piece and it is so fast, I don't even go back in the house. Love it!
Joy Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Luann
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
No Good
I am on my second Little Giant in 2 years and after one whole season..stopped working. The last one did the same thing. I think I will go back to the $99.00 one I bought at Lowe's and it lasted many years! I can't figure out why they say this is the best!!!!
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Luann,
I'm sorry to hear about the repeating issue that you are experiencing with your Little Giant Pool Cover Pump. While these pumps do include a 3 year warranty, they are not designed to be left outside year-round in freezing water conditions. As the instructions point out, the Little Giant APCP-1700 Pool Cover Pump in not designed to be left out year-round and in freezing temperatures or you do risk pump failure that will not be covered under warranty, so you would be replacing at your own risk. The only pool cover pump that we do offer that stipulated that it has some freeze protection, is the Wayne model WAPC250. Wayne states that this pump includes built-in debris and ice overload protection for added safety. And even then, they also state “When temperatures drop below freezing remove pump from service and store indoors to protect pump from damage due to ice.”

If you believe that the failure is due to other factors, please call Little Giant tech support at 888-956-0000 for further assistance.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Shana
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
It's Crap When You Need It To Work
I had this for about two weeks. I used it two times for light rain. Today it's just raining all day and it's cold out. I'm soaked because I was out trouble shooting this thing all morning. It will run but will not pump water. I have so much standing water on my pool cover now and I'm at a loss. I paid $200 for this junk and when you need it - it let's you down. What quits after a few weeks?!

I checked the hose - water runs through it from the house. I checked the float - no debris,... more
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Shana,
I'm sorry to hear about the issues you are experiencing with your Little Giant Pool Cover Pump. Please call Little Giant tech support at 888-956-0000 to assist you in troubleshooting the pump. If they deem the pump as defective, please let me know and I'll be happy to initiate the warranty procedure for you.
Jim Owiecki
Water Pump Product Expert
800-710-7499 X125
630-685-0025 - Direct
james@pedstores.com
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Eugene O.
Fogelsville, PA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/15/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pool Cover Pump
Best pump ever. Ordering was simple.
Eugene Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Laureen S.
Mesa, AZ
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/27/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
Bought a home last year, and first time pool owners. During the monsoon season we found ourselves bailing, by hand, the rain water off the pool cover. Not a pleasant experience for 60-70 year olds, especially during the night! Now we sleep through the night knowing this little gem is doing all the work! Worth its weight in gold, even in today's market!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Laureen Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Van R.
Bel Air, MD
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/21/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Does What It Is Designed To Do
Pump works like a champ! No problems, clears water in minutes.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Reliable, Price
Cons: Heavy
Van Recommends This Little Giant Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bruce
Clarkston, WA
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Working Fine
So far the pump is working just fine. It is doing the job I expected it to do
Was this review helpful?
00
Dick
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Had It One Year
Went to use it this year will not work. Going to call pool co where I bought it. Last pool cover pump lasted 8 years. Hope co makes good on it!!!
Cons: Unreliable
Was this review helpful?
01
John
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Intermittant Operation
Worked fine for half of the closed season, although water has to get deeper than I'd prefer before it kicks in. But then it began working intermittently. Even when float switch was manipulated manually, pump would not come on until a certain time period elapsed as if an internal breaker was tripping and had to cool before resetting. Eventually if will come back on but not before water has pooled higher than I'd prefer.
Pros: Quiet, Fast
Cons: Heavy, Unreliable
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
John,
Airlock might be occurring which would cause the pump to work intermittently. Make sure no air is trapped in the discharge hose.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials