Search
< Back to Product

Earthquake WP4310 Gas Dewatering Water Pump Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$146.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$146.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$146.99
(as of 06:07 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$209.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$164.25
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Earthquake WP4310 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5
Pros
Light Weight (18)
Price (14)
Easy To Store (11)
I'd Buy It Again (7)
Easy To Use (7)
Cons
Unreliable (6)
Difficult To Use (4)
Durability (3)
Low Quality (3)
Expensive (2)
67% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
60 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Water Pump Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
45 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1267 Helpful Votes
Water Pumps Direct Recommended

If you're looking for an economical and portable water pump for home or work this pump is for you. Weighing only 13 pounds and moving up to 2300 GPH, this water pump is ideal for emptying pools, flooded basements, and water-logged job sites. Portable, powerful, and affordable...what else could you want in a water pump?
Jim Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
4516
Jerry L.
Roseburg, OR
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/15/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pump
Great little pump, starts right up and puts out a lot more water then the toro pro. I highly recommend it.
Jerry Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul K.
Manchester, NY
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/16/14
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
What's Wrong With The Pump?
I bought the pump over a year ago. The first time I tried to use the pump it started easy and ran great but wouldn't pump an ounce of water. I took the pump to one of your warranty places and they said they fixed it.

Now the warranty is gone and the pump still won't pump water runs great just won't pump water. Not happy spending 170 dollars on the pump and another 45 dollars on the warranty fix and still nothing. I feel I should receive another pump or a refund on what I have spent on this... more
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Paul,
I'm sorry to hear of the issues that you experienced with your Earthquake pump. Have you insured that all starting and setup was done according to the manufacturer's instructions? In most cases, this problem is caused by a leak in the suction line at any point. It's quite similar to trying to suck through a straw with a pinhole leak.

Since the warranty was through the manufacturer and we do not see any record of you contacting us regarding any of these issues, we regret to inform you that there is nothing we can do at this time as the pump only carries a 1 year warranty. Should you decide to ever purchase another pump through us or through any other store, please contact the place of purchase or the manufacturer's tech support line if you ever have continued issues with your pump. We and they are always available to assist in getting your product taken care of to the best of our ability.

If you should have any other questions, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Jim Owiecki
Water Pump Product Expert
969 Veterans Pkwy Unit C
Bolingbrook, IL 60490
630-685-0025 Direct
james@pedstores.com
PowerEquipmentDirect.com
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Dennis K.
Royalston, MA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/28/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Little Pump, But...
I purchased this to pump water out of my pond so I could water my newly planted grass seed. Worked great for about 10 uses but then the back plate broke which is where the handle is attached. Called for the part and they sent the wrong one. While waiting for the part I tried to take the broken plate off the pump and it was impossible for me to do it. Waiting to hear back from the company as to where I can send it to be repaired and if not - have it replaced. Service people were very friendly... more
Dennis Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Jonathan J.
Centre, AL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
30
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Pump
I purchased this pump for house washing,and happy with it right out of the box, I've used this pump for about 20 hrs already and very happy with it and it uses hardly no fuel. If you want a good dependable water pump,this is it. If it broke tomorrow I would buy another that day. Thanks power direct. HAPPY CUSTOMER.
Pros: Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Durable
Jonathan Recommends This Earthquake Product
Jonathan's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"A must purchase pump that performs as advertised."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Earl W.
Plainfield, VT
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/21/16
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sap Pump
I used the pump to move maple sap from storage tanks in the Sugarbush to the sugar house. The pump arrived in time for the biggest run and the pump performed very well. A little difficulty starting the second run, but once it got going, it ran very well and performed as I expected. Believe the starting issue was me learning how to use the pump. Very pleased at this point.
Earl Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Daniel H.
Carmi, IL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/11/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Think Twice!
This pump would never pump a drop of water after numerous times priming the pump and attempting to pump water. Don't waste your money. Buy a real pump!
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Daniel,
Sounds like it might be an issue with the pump seal. I would suggest contacting Earthquake directly @ (800) 345-6007. This pump is covered by a 1-year warranty.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Daniel,
I am sorry to hear about the trouble. I do not show that any call has been made to our technical support team. We would love to be given the chance to assist you with this. Please contact our team at 800-345-6007.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Sam D.
Newcastle, WY
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/18/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not As Advertised
You say this is a 1-inch pump but you send 5/8 connections. Your ad say it will pump 2,300 gal, per minute. It pumps 300 gpm. .it is a 5/8 s inch pump.it does not have enough suction to pull water from a one inch hard plastic hose 3 ft long. I would not recommend this pump.
Cons: Unreliable
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Sam,
I apologize for any confusion and inconvenience. You may be a bit confused with the advertising on our site, Sam. While the WP4310 may include 5/8" adapters, the actual male threaded fittings on the suction and discharge ports are 1". The adapters are included for your convenience only and you are NOT required to use them. The pump is advertised at 38 GPM and the features on the product page does also list the pumping capacity at 2300 Gallons Per HOUR, which equals just over 38GPM.

If your pump is not pulling water from a 3 foot long hose, please double check to insure that the pump is primed per the instructions and there are NO leaks in your pipe or anywhere in that connection. IT only takes the smallest of leaks to create this kind of problem. If you are still having problems, please call Earthquake tech support at (800) 345-6007 for further assistance and let me know if you have any other problems.
more
Was this review helpful?
71
Emile I.
Niceville, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/23/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Little Pump With A Tempermental Engine
As the saying goes, the quality of life is inversely proportional to the number of gas engines one owns. However, this little pump is a winner. I use it to pump salt water from the Gulf to my beach house bait tank -- about 400 feet with a head of 20+ feet. I uses a foot valve on the end of the intake line (PVC Pipe) to hold the prime because the pump will not self-prime. The only issue I have is that I have to use about 1/2 to 2/3 choke to keep the engine running with the 20ft head as the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: The Motor Is A Bit Tempermental
Emile Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
82
Irving
South Lyon, MI
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/28/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Water Pump
The pump works great, once we got a check valve. I don't know why one is not included. Spent to much time trying to get it to work properly. Once the check valve was on, it works great.
Was this review helpful?
71
Mark
Austin, TX
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/20/11
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2011
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Recommended For Real World Use
Works OK moving water up a slight incline. I need mine to transfer water from a pond to a livestock water trough. Starts out OK but when I move the discharge hose slightly to fill another trough, the pressure increase causes the engine to surge. Sometimes it dies and then it won't always restart.

Also the priming is a hassle. If you start with the pump near the input water level, you can fill the prime tank once and it will start moving water within 30 seconds. If you start with the... more
Was this review helpful?
60
Donnie
Appomattox, VA
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Inside The Box
For those wondering whats in the box, this pump includes:
-Strainer
-Hose connectors (Not garden hoses)
-Hose Clamps
-Pump
-Instructions

(Hoses not included)
Was this review helpful?
71
Marco
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/29/13
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Starter Cable Pulled Out
Used it about 2 dozen times. Always hard to start, and today the starter cord pulled right out. Huge disappointment since it was barely used..
Was this review helpful?
50
Thomas B.
Del Rio, TX
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/19/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Manufacturer Backs Their Merchandise
I purchased the Earthquake 4310 water pump from Power Equipment Direct. Unfortunately the unit I received failed after a short run period. Although Power Equipment Direct has a no return policy on gas powered equipment, the manufacturer did.

I called Ardisam, spoke to a representative, and explained my dilemma to them. They, without any hesitation stood behind their product and sent me another water pump at no charge to me.

If you are looking for a light weight, high volume, very... more
Thomas Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Mark G.
Ivins, UT
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/24/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cheap Unit Works Good While It Works
Difficult to start but once started works well. Unfortunately after one use the recoil starter failed. Spend money on a better unit. or be prepared for the frustration that sometimes comes with getting what you pay for...
Pros: Light Weight, Price, Easy To Store, Features
Cons: Difficult To Use, Durability
Was this review helpful?
72
Chris
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
So-so
It runs good when it will start and stay running.
Was this review helpful?
61
Ben
Seattle, WA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/11/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
12
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Tricky Little Pump
The shipping from water pumps direct was great. The engine on the other hand is a tough pill to swallow. I am a certified mechanic and this little engine threw me for a loop. First out of the box the main fuel line to the carb was disconnected and dumped fuel when the primer bulb was first pressed. Second the plastic choke plate wasn't making contact with the carb inlet, it was rough trying to get the engine started. Then the engine would die after a few minutes. Finally after breaking the... more
Was this review helpful?
72
Trevor
Almena, WI
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/6/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Pump Wp 4310
Excellent pump, everything I expected. Starts and runs good and is fuel efficient. I pump Maple sap through 900 ft of one inch poly, works great!
Trevor Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Robert W.
Kansas City, MO
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/23/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Bad Pump
It's hard to start I only used the pump 2 times. Then the pump quit pumping water. To me not a very good pump
Pros: Light Weight, Price, Easy To Store, Only Used The Pump 2 Times Then It Quit Pumping Water Not A Very
Cons: Difficult To Use, Unreliable
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Robert,
Please call Earthquake tech support at 800-345-6007 and they will assist you in troubleshooting or if necessary, provide you with a name and phone number of a local service center that may repair your pump.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Wayne S.
Miami, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/24/14
REVIEWED
APR.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Pump
I have a hunting camp in the Florida Everglades, no electric or city water. We pump our ground water to holding tanks utilizing a gas powered water pump. Pump worked well for years but no longer works.The pump we had was heavy and hard to start at times. I wanted a pump that was smaller more efficient. Did a internet search came across Water Pumps Direct. Found the Earthquake pump.

I was skeptical at first about the price, power and quality of this small pump. Their were several reviews... more
Pros: Light Weight, Price, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Wayne Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
62
Jerry G.
Smackover, AR
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/30/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pumps Up Hill
I purchased this pump to fill a tank with water for my deer food plot. I used a 50" 5/8" intake hose to pump water up a 6' bank from a creek and two 50' garden hoses to carry the water up a slope to my holding tank. The pump worked great and did eveything I wanted it to do. I recommend using silicone on all hose connections to prevent air leaks and get a good suction. Hard to start the first time ,easier to start after warming up.This is a great little pump and I do recommend it.
Pros: Light Weight, Price
Cons: Hard To Start
Jerry Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
73
Mark
Sligo, PA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/23/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Junk
Blew up already. Only the 4th time used to water the garden. Will find time to contact them about
Was this review helpful?
51
Lynn
Pullman, WV
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/7/10
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Pump
This pump is fast and is an excellent pump.

This pump uses little gas and very easy to use. I would buy another pump just like this one.
Was this review helpful?
40
Tim C.
Burnsville, NC
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Still Great!
I purchased this pump about 7 years ago. We had a drought in our area and I used it to pump water from a nearby stream into our cistern. I was able to fill the 1200 gallon tank in a little over an hour which used very little gas. I was more than happy with the pump and it kept us in water for quite a few dry months.

Today, I decided to try it in our lower creek to water a garden that's inaccessible with hoses. Filled the tank with new gas mix, pulled the starter 2x and...shazaam! After 7... more
Tim Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Eric W.
Lake Alfred, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/19/14
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Impossible To Re-start After Initial Run
The manufacturer replaced the first unit with another complete unit and the second unit had the same problem: they both ran 15 minutes, died as if out of gas, and refused to restart. Some say the motor is finicky... I say the motor is an expensive boat anchor..
Pros: Light Weight, Price, Features
Cons: Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Low Quality
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Eric,
We're sorry to hear about the issue you had with the replacement pump. It is extremely rare that exact same problem has occurred twice for you on two different pumps. We've sold many of these same pumps since you're original order back in March and there has been no issues reported with any of them.

With that being said, the only other likely cause of the problem you're having is using old gasoline or not having the correct Oil/Fuel ratio (50:1). I would suggest referring to your owner's manual for more information. You also may want to try a "Fuel System Revitalizer" for small engines, which can be found at many hardware stores where the gasoline/oil supplies are.
more
Was this review helpful?
41
James C.
Golden Valley, AZ
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/26/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Pump
I took it out of the box added fuel oil mix primed it and it started on first pull. Used it all day. I transferred over 1500 gallons of water. Great little pump.
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Store, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: None
James Recommends This Earthquake Product
James Would Recommend Water Pumps Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great company to deal with."
 more
Was this review helpful?
63
Richard
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/1/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Earthquake 4310
Bought this pump to run 1 1/2 inch gold dredge. It runs the high banker part just fine but didn't perform as well as others on the suction dredge part. It weighs 15 lbs bone dry, just a little heavy. The motor is of good quality and starts and runs quite well. Has a manual gas tank vent on the cap which is handy for packing since you can shut it off and wont leak. Remember to open it before running the motor or it won't run too long. Some say it doesn't have a check valve. The check valve... more
Was this review helpful?
63
Fred
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/10/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This "earthquake" Rocks!
I bought this little pump to run a 1.5" gold dredge. I haven't been able to test it on the dredge so far but I gassed this little guy up right out of the box and it fired off right away.

This thing is thirsty for water and pumps it very well. My only complaint (if you want to call it that) is that the engine has to remain choked about half way at full throttle even after it is warmed up. So maybe burning just a bit lean from the factory or it could be this cold northern air. I am very... more
Was this review helpful?
52
Randy
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/26/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
17
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Starting Issue
I bought this unit to replace an older Tanaka QP 121 which always started easy and work well for years. This Pump won't start unless I manually prime the cylinder with gas. This means I have to take the spark plug out and pour a few drops into the spark plug hole.

Real pain in the back to start. Once the pump finally gets going it and warms up it seem to be ok, but trying to get it going is a real problem which is really disappointing ...
Was this review helpful?
63
Donnie
Appomattox, VA
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Good Little Pump...
The pump itself is very lightweight and easily transportable... It is a little loud, I even wear ear plugs with it as I'm filling up my 250 gallon tank... I would recommend just using this to fill tanks or short jobs, because it gets extremely hot and has overheated on me... But, I also was using a 3/4 inch hose to pump water to sprinklers when it overheated, so it may have just been the extra burden put on the pump... Gut other than that I cannot complain, it easily starts and haven't had any... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Thomas A.
Terlingua, TX
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/15/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Shopped Long For This One
I need a pump that serves to transfer rainwater between roof catchment tanks. I also wanted a pump that could double as a fire fighting pump. The capacity of this little WP4310 1-inch pump is amazing. It was easy to set up and performed very well through its first three tanks of fuel. It certainly serves my purposes.

My only complaint is that the instruction manual was a little lacking on all the details. It covers the engine quite well but you need to have a background on pumps to hook it... more
Thomas Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Lawrence B.
Killen, AL
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Bad Pump
Don't run right, don't pump right. I got this one 7/30/2014. I had one just like this one it run good and pump good almost three years, then the handle fell off this new one. I would not buy wp4310 again.
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Expensive
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Lawrence,
We are sorry that you've had a bad experience with your WP4310. We want you to be satisfied with your purchase. Please contact customer service at 1-800-345-6007, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday so that we can find a solution to your problem. We have more than 1700 service centers around the country, and all repair parts are in stock and available.

Thanks,

Leif
Earthquake Customer Service
more
Lawrence's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I would buy another pump from water pump direct but not the Earthquake wp4310."
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Rogelio P.
Tamarac, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/17/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Portability Of The Earthquake Wp4310 Water Pump
I am from the Philippines working as a technician on board ocean going Cruise liners. I bought this product online andit was delivered and stored at my company's head office in Florida, after my contract finished. I picked up this pump at our office in Florida checked the content and re packed it again in its original box.Put it in my Delsey hardcase shell luggage and it fit inside as it is. Went to the airport checked in the baggage with the pump inside and fly back to Manila

2 days after... more
Pros: Light Weight, Price, Easy To Store
Rogelio Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
42
Richard B.
Tampa, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/4/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Took To The Dominican Republic
Was easy to transport in my duffel bag. Installed in a 20 foot deep well and the pump performed marvelously.
Pros: Light Weight, Price, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Richard Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
42
Stanford G.
Streetsboro, OH
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/26/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Beg To Differ From Some Of The Earlier Reviews About Problems
Some of the earlier reviews noted that this product was very hard to start. I had no problems in this regard. It is possible because the enclosed directions are not so explicit regarding location of the priming button button, that the first start up becomes quite difficult. The priming button is not so much "in your face" as it is with other engines, thus it may be disregarded though it is mentioned in the directions (but few persons, unfortunately, actually read the directions). The... more
Pros: Fast, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bad Instructions
Stanford Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Alessandro B.
Westbury, NY
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/18/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Flower Displays
I do 14 large flower displays in high end shopping centers. I needed something small for one guy but powerful enough, this pump is awesome
Pros: Light Weight, Durable, Fast, High Quality
Alessandro Recommends This Earthquake Product
Alessandro Would Recommend Water Pumps Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
42
Rex M.
Wellsville, KS
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/23/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does What I Wanted
I bought this pump to fill a 210 gallon tank from the creek to water my garden. It works very well, but sometimes is a little hard to prime. I run it at about 1/2 throttle, and fill the tank in less than 20 minuets. It's very light, and easy to place. Great little pump.
Pros: Easy To Store, Light Weight, Price, Fast
Rex Recommends This Earthquake Product
Rex Would Recommend Water Pumps Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good little pump!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
42
David G.
Walland, TN
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/4/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Water Pump
Starts easy runs great only 1 problem muffler is to loud.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Durability
David Recommends This Earthquake Product
David Would Recommend Water Pumps Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great job keep it up."
 more
Was this review helpful?
42
Kevin
Gore Bay, MI
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/9/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Little Pump
It's a good pump. Well made, though there could be improvements, yet overall of a higher caliber of construction then I expected. This is a pump that can be dissembled and repaired. It isn't a throw away unit, assuming parts, if ever needed, will be available.

The engine is quirky. Given that small gas engines can come in lemon flavor, I was concerned when repeated pulls would not start the motor. I mean dozens of full strokes. Primed the carb, set the choke, and after maybe 30 attempts it... more
Was this review helpful?
31
Glen C.
Warrensburg, MO
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/22/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
You Pay Your Money & You Take Your Chances
Pay the extra money and get a Honda Pump. My Earthquake ran for 30 minutes while pumping 3.5 gals /min and died. Vented gas tank, re-primed and restarted it. It ran 20 minutes, pumped 3.5 gal/min then died again.

Haven't been able to restart it in 2 days. It's in the authorized repair center now. I have to buy another pump (Honda) because I'm under a deadline and can't wait for the authorized service center to figure out what's wrong with this one. This pump will end up costing me over... more
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Glen,
I'm sorry to hear of the problems that you are experiencing with your Earthquake pump. While it is generally true that you "get what you pay for", the Earthquake pump has proven to be a fairly reliable pump for the money. That said, if this pump failed due to a manufacturing defect, the service center should handle the repair under warranty at no cost to you, providing you took it to an Earthquake Authorized Service Center. If you have any other questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Jim Owiecki
Water Pump Product Expert
800-710-7499 X125
630-685-0025 Direct
james@pedstores.com
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Maxwell R.
Newton, WV
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/20/15
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump, Wwonderful Price
After a lot of consideration, I decided to take a chance on this pump. So far, after pumping almost daily, I'm more than impressed. I've used other name brand pumps in the past and this unit holds its own along side of them. Has started so easily every time and pumps a good volume of water. In short, great value for a great pump.
Maxwell Recommends This Earthquake Product
Maxwell's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping, excellent prices, would buy from here again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Nancy A.
Woodford, VA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/9/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pump
I haven't had a chance to use my pump a lot, but the time i have it has performed very well.
Pros: Light Weight, Price, Easy To Store, Easy To Use
Nancy Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Jay V.
Belleair Beach, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/18/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exactly What I Wanted
It is basically a weed whacker engine on steroids running a pump, but if you are looking for great product that is light weight and works well, this is it..
Pros: Light Weight
Jay Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Zach Mcg.
Murrieta, CA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/22/11
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Little Pump
It does the job well. It can be a bit tricky to get started but once it's running, it runs well.
Was this review helpful?
21
Keith
Altamont, NY
REVIEWED
MAR.
03
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Little Pump... Just Need A Full Tank
I've been using this pump to move maple sap from two holding tanks to a transfer tank (back of RTV) and then pump the sap from the transfer tank to a holding tank that sits about 10' off the ground.

The pump really does well at moving sap from tank to tank. I prime the pump by filling the end of the suction hose with sap from a separate container. Once the hose is full I know it's primed. Takes about 2 minutes.

I pull the cord slowly twice before I fill the suction hose with sap just to... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael
Chesapeake, VA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/3/11
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2011
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Neutral At Present
I purchased this pump to replace an old Homelite AP125. which worked great for several years. Unfortunately, the pump seals have given out and no parts are available. My old pump would pump water as long as the strainer was covered. This has not been the case with the Earthquake and I have contacted the manufacturer once and am about to contact them again. I have checked all the fittings for leaks and have even tried a new suction hose. The pump seems to need about 12" of head over the... more
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Michael,
Replacement parts can be found here...Earthquake Home Page
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Jeff S.
Leander, TX
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/4/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Under Powered For My Use
Purchased to pump water from rain barrels pump not strong enough to pump from 300 gallon barrel---disappointed
Was this review helpful?
11
William L.
Jersey City, NJ
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/27/15
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
All The Power I Need.
First time use was better than I thought... had the power to do just what I needed it for.
Pros: Price, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Add The Suction Hose That Will Need
William Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Gary A.
Norwalk, IA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/20/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Could Not Get It To Work For What I Wanted To Use It For
Tried to pull water from an abandoned well. Had approximately 16 feet of 1" PVC pipe, but it would not pump. Even though there was water in the well.
Cons: Could Never Get It To Work Will Look For A Better One Elsewhere
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Gary,
That pump should work for the application you're using it for. I would suggest contacting Earthquake directly @ (800) 345-6007. They should be able to troubleshoot the issue you're having or direct you to a service center to see if warranty work needs to be performed on the pump.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Gary,
Please contact our customer service department at 1-800-345-6007 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday so that we can help you resolve the issue.

It sounds like it could be a priming issue. Lifting water 16 feet will require proper pump priming. Our team wants to help you get the solution you need.

If you require service, we have more than 1700 service centers around the United States, and we are committed to making your experience a positive one.
more
Was this review helpful?
33
Mike
Fallon, NV
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/7/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Junk
One, this pump is junk. Ihad it one month always had to be tuned. Engine is made in china a copy of a Mitsubishi 2 stroke. The manufacturer has no idea how to adjust a carb. Junked it and bought a Honda.
Was this review helpful?
22
Greg W.
Dresden, TN
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/24/11
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Built Pump
The pump performs expected.
Pros: Light Weight, Fast, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Cons: Expensive
Greg Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Stephane K.
Smyrna, DE
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/24/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Emergency Pump
Just tried once for a 5 minutes test when I got it. So far, so good. I bought it for emergency, if any, and this is exactly for I was looking for. Powerfu enough and very affordable. I certainly love my toy.
Pros: Light Weight, Price, Easy To Store, Easy To Use, Fast, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Durable, Quiet, Reliable
Stephane Recommends This Earthquake Product
Stephane's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping and very helpful Customer Service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Coleman
Hoschton, GA
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gets The Job Done
Shipping was prompt and quick. The pump operates great and gets the job done.
Was this review helpful?
01
Christopher S.
Richmond, MI
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/6/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Pump
I own a farm and use it to transfer fertilizer. It's small, easy-to-handle, plus it pumps great.
Christopher Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
02
John
Vero Beach, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/6/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Earthquake Review
It works great! I needed power to my water blaster from a water tank where water wasn't available. (PERFECT)
John Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Peter
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/21/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Do Not Waste Your Money!
This product failed after 2 uses of 10 minutes each. The pump leaked and then the engine would not run again.
Cons: Unreliable, Durability, Low Quality, Only Worked 2 Times Failed In Less Than 1 Tank Of Gas
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Peter,
Small engines like this can be very sensitive to fuel with ethanol. Always use new, fresh fuel to make starting as easy as possible.
more
Was this review helpful?
13
Paul K.
Salisbury, MD
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/13/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
17
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Stoped Working After 1 Hour
We have only used it for an hour and it stopped working. We took it to the shop to get it fixed its been 3 weeks.
Pros: Light Weight, Price
Cons: Difficult To Use, Unreliable
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Paul,
We're sorry about the issues you're having with your pump. Normally there a very few, if any issues with the pump. Hopefully the service shop will have it back to you soon. If we could be of any assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us.
more
Was this review helpful?
02
James
Las Vegas, NV
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/20/11
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Review
It works very well.
Was this review helpful?
02
James M.
Bend, TX
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/22/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
31
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Worthless
The pump cratered during the second hour of use.
Don't waste your money!!!
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
James,
I'm sorry to hear of the issues you are experiencing with your Earthquake pump. Please call Earthquake tech support at 800-345-6007 and they will be happy to assist you in troubleshooting the problem and if necessary, direct you to a local service center to have your pump repaired. If this is a warranty issue, your pump may also be covered until 5/22/2015. If you have any other questions or concerns, please let me know.
Sincerely,
Jim Owiecki
Water Pump Product Expert
800-710-7499 X125
630-685-0025 - Direct
james@pedstores.com
more
Was this review helpful?
03
Daniel D.
Wellington, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/14/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Time!
This is the first time buying and using this name brand of pump. So far so good. Bought as a back-up for irrigation line breaks and has been used once so far, just to test it. Worked good and simple to run, only time will tell.
Daniel Recommends This Earthquake Product
Was this review helpful?
03
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials