Search
< Back to Product

DuroMax XP652WP Gas Dewatering Water Pump Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$229.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$229.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$248.24
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
DuroMax XP652WP Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Pros
Durable (3)
Reliable (2)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
Light Weight (2)
Easy To Use (2)
Cons
Not Much To Said Negativ... (1)
Heavy (1)
82% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
20 Reviews  Sort by 
 
David P.
Grants Pass, OR
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/31/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Water Pump
Fast delivery, nearly ready to use right out of the box. I really think it should come with a bottle of oil. Overall a great buy. Thanks Water Pumps Direct.
Pros: Durable, Price, Fast, It Should Come With A Bottle Of Oil
David Recommends This DuroMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/1/11
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Avoid This Pump
Bought to fill up an ice rink. Used once a year. Many problems with the pump right from the start but managed to get the job done for first 2 years (about 2-3 hrs of pumping). 3rd year it quit after an hour and no amount of coaxing could get it going.

Brought it to a mechanic for this year. Fixed shut off (which was not connected) properly labeled the choke (sticker on backwards and spent some time trying to fix some issues with the carb (air/fuel intakes not matching up with carb). more
John Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
John,
Thank you for your email. I'm sorry to hear of the problems that you experienced with your DuroMax pump. While this pump does only carry a 1 year warranty and does not provide the quality of a Honda or other higher quality or priced pump, I would encourage you to contact DuroMax tech support at 800-629-3325, Ext. 208 to make them aware of the quality control.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Ken
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/9/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Good Deal? You Decide...
Pump arrived via FedEx ground. nice prompt shipping for the pump, but the hose kit arrived several days later.
Pump starts (and restarts) pumps water just fine, see attached picture.
Problems:
1) manual says use 15W40 oil, 2 labels on the pump itself says use 30Wt.
2) I am at 6200' altitude, manual says carburetor needs to be adjusted, but the carburetor is non-adjustable
The mixture screw has no adjustment slot, and is glued in place. My local small engine shop wants $50 to fiddle with... more
View Image
Was this review helpful?
112
Rafael V.
Sun Valley, CA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/15/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Realy Works!!!
I did not expect it to be this good for the price I paid.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Not Much To Said Negative
Rafael Recommends This DuroMax Product
Was this review helpful?
80
Vernon Beavers
Front Royal, VA
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Homeowner Water Pump
Purchased the Duromax "xp652wp" 2" water pump. The merchandise was shipped in a timely fashion. All I had to do when it arrived was to fill it with oil and gasoline. I had to purchase the inlet and outlet hose from another source before use, thinking it came with the inlet hose was my mistake.

Once I arrived at the river, the machine ran like a watch and you better have someone on the outlet end, it was like a fire hose. Lowering the throttle helped to control flow. So far... more
Was this review helpful?
70
Robert C.
Winston Salem, NC
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/12/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Work Together
The only issue I had was the filter that came with the pump does not fit the suction hose. I had to make a separate purchase for my local hardware store.

One would think that the makers of the pump and the makers of the hoses that you have to purchase separately would at least communicate so all the parts work together.
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Robert,
We apologize for the inconvenience, and we agree that standardized connectors would make everyone's life a lot easier.
more
Was this review helpful?
61
Dan
Redding, CA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/7/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Pump!!!
Added oil and fuel and put it to work. Used it to pump water 20 feet up a hill to run water to my high banker and it supplied me with the water I needed to run through my sluice box. It even gave me plenty of water to run my 2" hydroforce dry land suction nozzle!!! Smooth running, dependable and it's only 64 pounds.
Pros: Durable, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Dan Recommends This DuroMax Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Kurt L.
Foley, MO
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Pump
I used this pump to transfer water from one pond to another. The ponds were 525 feet apart and had 50 foot of head lift. I used 1 3/4 fire hose for the discharge hose and 20 foot of suction hose with a threaded metal strainer I purchased on e-bay. The pump pumped on average 1800 gallons an hour. I have used it 4 times each time running the pump for 12 hours with no ill effects. I am super happy with the performance of this pump and would purchase again.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Kurt Recommends This DuroMax Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Virginia P.
Wallinton, NH
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/19/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
02
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Having A Hard Time Getting This To Run
We are still trying to figure out why this will not run. Cannot get it to run. Do not know what is wrong but having someone look at it. I will be notifying you after we have run out of options.......
Was this review helpful?
31
David
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/18/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
This pump performs up to the listed specs. It's easy to start. Does the job well.

We use it to transfer water from a pond for irrigation of trees and gardens.
Was this review helpful?
20
Stafford
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/25/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Well
This pump works well, so far. It's light enough to move around, and it pumps water fine.

The intake is in a shallow creek, & it pumps a 10'x10'x8' tank full with less than a tank of gas, up a 50' high hill.

If it can do this for another 10 years, I'll be happier than a pig in...
Was this review helpful?
10
Howard K.
Wellington, CO
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/2/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Water From Ditch To Pond
Our pond water is used for watering our grass and trees. The level was extremely low but with my new pump it took only two hours to fill the pond from the irrigation ditch behind our home.

The pump set up easily and worked seamlessly.
Was this review helpful?
10
Clayton H.
Summerdale, AL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/21/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bought Pump To Blow Sand Build-up Out Of Boat Slip
My recent purchase of the Duromax 2" pump has so far been successful. (I couldn't believe that the hoses, etc. would run me another $100!) Anyway, my first use of the pump was successful.

The motor started up and ran fine, but the pump was not pulling water from the river. I finally set the intake hose above the pump so more water would initially be in the hose and pump.

Within 2-3 minutes, the pump was shooting water out of my makeshift pvc pipe set up and I was jetting sand... more
Clayton Recommends This DuroMax Product
Clayton's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very professional. Helped me pick the size pump and type needed for the job. Delivered on time."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Terrance Q.
Auberry, CA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/1/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Value
So far the water pump works well. It was easy to get running and does the job.
Terrance Recommends This DuroMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John M.
Swayzee, IN
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/10/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than Expected.
This is a great little pump. Started on the first pull and ran great. Pumped all the water I needed fast.
John Recommends This DuroMax Product
John's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered on Sunday, got it on Tuesday! Can't beat that."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joe B.
Kent, OH
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/28/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Duromax Xp652wp - 158
Started 1st pull, moved an amazing amount of water. I used it a couple of times since then, and so far it's good. I'm very happy
Joe Recommends This DuroMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Barry C.
Lake Charles, LA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/18/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased
Fast service
Barry Recommends This DuroMax Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bob
Colchester, VT
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/21/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Did The Job
I have only used it once, but it did the job I asked it to do.
Was this review helpful?
00
Edward
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/5/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Pump
Fast delievery of Product and Super Water Pump. Starts quickly and runs forever on a gallon of gas!
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron P.
Barnesville, GA
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Finding Parts For A Xp652wp Portable Gasoline Water Pump
I bought the pump a few years ago (less than 5) and the suction port flange has cracked.

The pump, therefore, will not hold water. I've talked to three customer service representatives over the past three days.

All say they are opening a file and will get back with me. No response yet and my pump is still down.

I believe that I will just have to have a machine shop make the part. Customer service in this regard rates extremely poor with me. Ron
Ron Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Ron,
We're sorry to hear you're having difficulties, but we have no record of you placing an order with us. Consider contacting the retailer you purchased it from, or contacting the manufacturer to find out if they'll repair or replace it under warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
12
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials