Search
Priority Shipments @ Water Pumps Direct View All In-Stock Pumps View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Bur-Cam 506538SS Electric Shallow Well Water Pump Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$349.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$349.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$535.95
(as of 06:32 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$399.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Bur-Cam 506538SS Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (3)
Durable (3)
Price (3)
Reliable (2)
Easy To Use (2)
Cons
None (1)
Low Quality (1)
74% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
28 Reviews  Sort by 
 
John S.
Panama City, FL
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/6/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Pump
Works well, very, very quiet. Pump was very well packaged. Only problem was I was expecting more flow. Can only handle 3 or 4 sprinkler heads.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet, Price
John Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Was this review helpful?
10
John D.
Spokane, WA
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Don't Use For Ro Water
Bought this pump 1 1/2 years ago off of the recommendation from these reviews and it seized up big time! Was using it to pump reverse osmosis (R.O.) water to faucets in house. Nothing was ever mentioned about using only mineral laden water in this pump. I confirmed this by calling Bur cam and they acted like I should of somehow known it! Went with a Little Giant pump that was now recommended. This new little Giant pump is quiet and keeps pressure better. The Bur cam pump was noisy!!
John Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Darrell D.
Conway, AR
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/23/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Beware Of This Pump
Purchased for hunting camp, it blow off a hose that was not tight from factory and ran dry for a week and meltied pvc connections.
Pros: Price, Quiet
Cons: Low Quality
Darrell Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Darrell,
Sorry to hear about the issues you had with your pump. It is recommended during installation that all factory fittings be checked prior to operation.
more
Darrell's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping, issue with factory quality."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/22/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Pump
Hooked it up and it's been working without a hitch for a few months now.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None
Robert Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry R.
Pie Town, NM
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/6/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Service
I could not get the pump to work. I called Robert in the service dept. and very professionally he had me up and running in a very short time. The pump is on rain water collection system running a drip system on a timer. This makes a very sweet setup for my organic garden. Thanks again Robert!!
Larry Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Larry's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to use website. Good communication."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Wayne B.
Pasadena, MD
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/30/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Upgraded Pump
Researched pumps for outside hoses and lawn watering system. This pump was the best choice for both operations.
Wayne Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert J.
Metter, GA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/25/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Neat & Effective Assembly
Purchased this unit to use with 1-1/4" sandpoint well (23 ft deep) as a backup to my deep well. I removed the clear braided hose and replaced it with PVC to eliminate algae growth. The grey plastic fittings have threads hard to seal with Teflon tape. Better to use a good quality thread paste. Also, I added a sand filter prior to pump to eliminate sand and pump wear. System works flawlessly for my needs. I do plan on adding a cycle stop valve in the future to prevent over cycling. I... more
Robert Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Robert's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordering was easy and unit arrived SUPER FAST and well packaged with no damage."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ronald R.
Attleboro, MA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/3/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
This Pump
The pump took five days to get here and when it got here I went on vacation came back opened the box hooked up the pump it works great no issues. Went to read about the warranty only have 10 days to register the warranty is now null and void. For that reason I would not recommend this product to anybody 10 days to register anything is a very shot..
Ronald Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Ronald,
I would suggest contacting Bur-Cam directly @ (800) 361-1820. If you have any additional issues, please feel free to contact us.
more
Ronald's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Product came in five days open the box there was in great shape looked it up and work well I would and would not recommend buying a pump from this manufacturer BUR-CAM only have 10 days to register the product or it is null and void. But I would buy a pump from water pump direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve J.
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/9/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Working For 2 Weeks
SUMMER TIMEI installed the pump, primed it and it has been working well for 2 weeks now...It supplies water for a home and runs the sprinklers in the garden for at least 1 hr a day ...
Steve Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Greg M.
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/2/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liked It So Much I Bought Another
I convert conventional septic systems into waste water treatment plants which recover, process, and store every drop of water from household raw sewage to be used for outdoor watering needs. This little pump works great for pressurizing and distributing the reclaimed water to small agricultural drip irrigation systems.

I bought one of these pumps for a customer's system, and liked it so much I bought another for my own system.
Greg Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Greg's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Thanks for offering such a high quality compact well designed system."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Stephen W.
Tuba City, AZ
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/7/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Pumper Second Come Back
This is my second Bur-Cam. My first pump of 4 years ago is still doing a good job. My cistern is 15 ft. deep to my 12,000 gal. storage. I have city water hauled in to my off-grid property. Now I'm getting ready to set up rain collection and much more extensive filter system. So, I am installing this Bur-Cam with little ss pressure tank and also 2 other large 119 gal diaphram tanks I should get around a 60 gal. draw-down before this pump kicks on.

My 6 yr. old 120 gal. bladder tank may be... more
Pros: Durable, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Stephen Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles T.
Batavia, OH
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/15/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Weak Pump And Motor.
Installed pump in system. Hooked up and primed. Very weak pump. Reinstalled old pump. Works way better. I would not recommend this pump. Looks good....works poorly. Avoid!
Charles Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Charles,
I’m sorry to hear of the problems you are experiencing with your Bur-Cam pump. Please call their tech support line at 800-361-1820 for help in troubleshooting your pump. If they deem the pump as defective, please get back to me with the tech’s name that you spoke to and their diagnosis ( not “defective” ) and I’ll be happy to initiate warranty procedures for you.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mathew L.
Hampden, ME
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Pump / Easy Install
I installed the pump at my camp where it is drawing about 15' vertical and 50' horizontal. One of they keys to a good install is to make sure you don't have any leaks in the suction piping. I also used a quality foot valve and inlet screen to protect the pump. So far it has worked flawlessly. Has been in use for a couple of weeks now.
Mathew Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Mathew's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My pump arrived in just a few days after ordering. Very pleased with the service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Adam P.
Conroe, TX
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/1/16
REVIEWED
APR.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Pump Is A Beast!!
This pump/tank works really well. Installation was a breeze. Received product extremely fast from Water Pumps Direct. They
Were the best price on the net. Highly recommend !!!!
Adam Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Adam's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"They had what I needed at the best price."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Nann L.
Pullman, MI
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/29/16
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet And Efficient Pump
Just bought a piece of property in Michigan with well water. Property has been uninhabited for many years and old pump (1/2hp) needs replacing. No major issue so far with the new pump. Very surprisingly light and quiet. The top opening maybe slightly leaking like other customers have noted, but I think it would stop when I tightening the cap a little more. I wouldn't mind having a bigger pressurized tank. Shipping was quick and painless. Customer service was helpful. Thank you.
Nann Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Anthony C.
San Lorenzo, CA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/27/16
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Water Pumps Direct
La pompa de agua (bur-cam) 16 gpm 3/4 hp stainless steel shallow well jet PUMP w/ 16 gal tank Me gusta como trabaja i tiene una potencia muy buena estoy muy contento con ella, ...
Anthony Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Anthony's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Estoy muy agusto con la "WATER PUMP"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeff A.
Hillsboro, MO
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/11/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
26
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Model# 506538ss
Installed the pump with no problems, after priming the pump and turning on I came to find out that the tee threaded into the top of the pump was leaking from factory. Had to drive 1 hour to hardware store to buy a coupler to take the tee off and put more Teflon tape on it. After that fix all works well. So to new buyers I would double check even factory connections.
Jeff Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Jeff's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Tee on top of pump leaked. Double check even factory connections, so you save yourself a long trip to the hardware store."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael Pruitt
Quenemo, KS
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/17/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
It Leaks
Pump installation was easy and straight forward, but the t-fitting on top of pump leaks. I can't tell without taking it apart if it is on a nipple, or is a special Burcam whiz bang. Too tired today, will try tomorrow. Pretty disappointing.
Michael Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Michael,
For additional troubleshooting, Bur-Cam can be reached directly @ (800) 361-1820.
more
Michael's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Large selection, quick shipping..."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert B.
Berlin, NH
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/8/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not All That I Hope For
I went from a Sears 1/2 hp set up that was much quitter than this one and I even went to 1" pipe for 24 inches to get ride of the cavitation sound with no avail and it has a loud clunking sound at the end of the cycle.... the biggest problem is its in my cellar below the master bed room so the noise is a problem. The pump works fine and if it were outside it would be fine... but not my best purchase.
Robert Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
Robert,
Sorry to hear about the issues you're experiencing with your new pump. Bur-Cam provides a 2-Year warranty on that model. For advanced troubleshooting, they can be reached directly @ (800) 361-1820
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ronald Moses
Schuylerville, NY
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/2/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Buy Of 2016
This pumps is the best!!!!!!!!!!! 100% Don't let size fool you!!!!!!!!! this pump kick butt! Very very fast recovery!! I love to show off my pump and say how very happy I am.
Ronald Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Ronald's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Stop looking this is the one!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill C.
Lansing, NC
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/12/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Home Water Pump
This pump works very well. I had to adjust pressure switch (30-50) to 42- 62 PSI. Provides great amount of water. Very happy with the system.
Bill Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert M.
Petersburg, KY
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/10/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump!
The pump arrived with some minor shipping damage. (One of the packing Styrofoam pieces had broken.) Robert at Burcam was very helpful and they shipped a replacement part. It arrived in a couple days. I signed up for their extended warranty. For only $15.00 it is covered for and additional 3 years for parts. I doubt I will need it with the quality this pump appears to have!
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Fast, High Quality
Robert Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Was this review helpful?
112
Linda F.
Pearce, AZ
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/31/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
11
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wonderful Purchase
I bought the Water Pump for my husband. He has connected it and he says that it is great. It was a wonderful purchase for the price.

We recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
92
Tom B.
Duluth, MN
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/8/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied
We made the mistake of purchasing a pump from a big box store. During a particularly cold winter stretch, we lost heat at our cabin and the pump froze, cracking the casting on the pump.

We called Coleman to purchase a new cover and were told they didn't stock parts for the pump as it was a special build for this store and they were basically use and discard pumps.

We installed the Bur-Cam in about an hour and had wonderful water pressure in under an hour. So far, so good with performance.
Tom Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Michael G.
Millmont, PA
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/20/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
I have had this pump installed in my home for about a month and have not experienced any issues.

The install went well. The pump primed on the first try, it is light weight and quiet when operating.
Michael Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Bill D.
Lake George, NY
REVIEWED
SEP.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Delivered Fast. Packing...ok
It arrived promptly (3 days) and in good shape, via Fed Ex.

However, the top piece of interior cardboard, designed to hold the top of the pump steady in the carton, it had slipped off and was lying beside the pump/tank combo.

Bur-Cam take note, it should have been better fastened so that it would stay put. Had this shipment been dropped on its side, that nice SS pressure tank could have been dented.

The product looks very good. Installation will take place tomorrow.
Bill Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
Was this review helpful?
32
William D.
Glens Falls, NY
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/9/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Operates Well.
Bought it to replace a Kenmore which needed a rebuild after a dozen years

The installation was straightforward and it's working fine. It's no quieter than the 1/2 horse Kenmore, but if the specs are right, it has 3/4 horse.

It appears to be high quality and I expect it will have a long life.
William Recommends This Bur-Cam Product
William's Experience With Water Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
D
Purchased from Water Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/19/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Quality Issues
This pump system seemed a perfect fit. 1" inlet, 1" outlet, 30 - 50 pressure switch. The first pump was severely damaged in shipping and required replacement. The replacement pump was packed much better but came with a 20 - 40 pressure switch that required changing. The pump also leaks between the inlet section and pump. Waiting on determination to fix this problem. Water Pump Direct has been very helpful resolving problems with this pump.
D Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Water Pump Expert
Product Expert
D,
We're happy to work with you on this, so don't hesitate to call if you have any further questions or concerns.
more
Was this review helpful?
44
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials